Get To Know: JSR

Pat Lewis
Emanate.live
7 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Jonathon Sebastian Robinson, the Australian DJ and producer better known simply as JSR, first came onto our radar when he submitted tracks for the Send Music to mau5trap campaign earlier this year. The Send Music campaign, the first of its kind here at emanate, saw hundreds of producers from around the world submitting their music to the good folks at mau5trap to get heard, get feedback and if they really stood out, get featured on the official mau5trap playlist on emanate.

For JSR, that Send Music campaign saw not one, but two of his tracks make their way onto mau5trap’s playlist. With Reborn and Levitate impressing the mau5trap team and blowing audiences away, it wasn’t long til JSR was treating us to a live set in the emanate Discord.

Now, we’re finally getting to speak to him to learn all about our new favorite Aussie DJ.

Hey JSR! So, how did you first get into music production?

When I was younger I learnt to play the guitar and sing on stage. I would write my own songs and perform them, often with accompanying band members. I was taught Jazz, and what I really wanted was an experimental Jazz trio like those guys from the 50s, but with rock sensibilities. Things like the guitar having the wild tone of 90s grunge, or 70s classic heavy rock. Stuff like Zeppelin and Soundgarden. I was always experimenting and striving to create new sounds with my music, looking up to bands like Radiohead and Pink Floyd with their innovative ideals. Learning music theory was both confining and freeing for my creativity. On the one hand, I felt the more I learnt, the less I could blindly write without the need for labels and names of musical motifs, styles, and cliches. On the other end of the spectrum, I found a thrilling buzz for knowing the ‘rules’ and language of music, and then purposefully going against those same rules and breaking them.

What drew you to electronic music?

I’ve always been fascinated by the endless possibilities that electronic music offers. The ability to create entirely new sounds and textures using synthesis and other production techniques is what drew me in initially.
I also love the energy and excitement that electronic music can bring to a live performance or a club environment. The ability to manipulate sounds in real-time and create a unique and immersive experience for the audience is something that I find incredibly inspiring. After listening to and immersing myself in electronic music, I started using Ableton and
making my own tracks. I had always loved how creative and experimental the sounds of electronic music are and so I wanted to create as well. I found myself locked away for days at a time, learning and designing, simply for the fun of it. It was and still is a great passion of mine to create something unique and new.

Electronic music has a lot of sub genres, where would you say your sound sits?

I like to think that my music is a blend of different sub-genres of electronic music. While I draw inspiration from a variety of styles, I don’t necessarily try to fit my music into any one particular category or label. Instead, I strive to create a sound that is uniquely my own, while still paying homage to the various sub-genres that have influenced me over the years. I believe that electronic music is constantly evolving, and I try to stay open to new ideas and sounds, while also staying true to my own musical identity.

When you’re writing a new song, where do you start?

The way I start creating music depends on the situation. I might begin with a melody or chord progression I’ve been toying with and develop the rest of the track around it. Alternatively, I might opt to start with a particular sound or texture and then create a complete track based on it. When I’m composing music, I enjoy sitting at the computer and experimenting with sounds and ideas without any specific objectives. If I discover something with potential, I’ll refine and transform it into a complete track.

Who are your biggest artistic influences?

During my upbringing, I was exposed to the music of several influential rock bands like Soundgarden, Led Zeppelin, and Radiohead. These bands have greatly influenced my approach to creating music and writing songs. I found the way they pioneered and strived for new and progressive sounds is something I resonate with. Composers such as Arvo Part, Thomas Newman, and Erik Satie have had a significant impact on my approach to music production and composition. I like to incorporate elements of classical harmony and counterpoint into my tracks, and I enjoy experimenting with fusing traditional orchestration with electronic instrumentation. In terms of electronic music, I have found myself influenced by artists like Burial, Four Tet, and Massive Attack. I hold these artists in great esteem because of their passion to push genres and styles. Burial’s ‘Archangel’, Four Tet’s ‘Baby’, and Massive Attack’s ‘Teardrop’ are all personally influential and I play them any chance I get in my live sets; they’re special tracks to me.

Where do you find inspiration? What motivates you to create?

I find inspiration in various ways. Sometimes I get inspired by my personal experiences, while other times I turn to literature, film, cooking, and other forms of art. Listening to music from other genres and artists is also exciting to feed ideas of how to take from one medium to a completely different one and produce something new altogether. For example, with cooking I might be slightly altering a recipe and find that there is a parallel idea for a particular track I’m working on. In that instance, I may find an alternative for the road I’m taking that particular sound down and discover a fresh perspective on it. I’m driven by the desire to create something that I’m proud of and that stands out from other music. I also enjoy the challenge of pushing myself to try new things and explore new sounds, and I take satisfaction in seeing how my music connects with people.

How do you think an artist can stand out in this ecosystem?

Web3 presents a unique opportunity for artists to stand out and differentiate themselves in a crowded digital music landscape. One way artists can stand out is by leveraging the unique features of web3 technology, such as NFTs, smart contracts, and decentralised marketplaces, to create and distribute music in new and innovative ways. Ultimately, the key to standing out in the web3 ecosystem is to embrace new technology and use it to create unique and engaging experiences for fans. By doing so, artists can differentiate themselves and build a loyal fanbase in this rapidly evolving digital landscape. Someone who I find to be creating important discussions around web3 and music is Dean Wilson, CEO and founder of Seven20. He has a strong outlook on artists and their ownership of music rights, and is actively fostering opportunities for the music industry in this new web3 ecosystem.

Are you working on anything new at the moment?

Yes, I’m always working on new material. Creating is a strong passion of mine, and it’s something I want to do for a long time. I’m incredibly excited for my upcoming releases, and I’m looking forward to sharing teasers and snippets of my new music on social media. I’m looking forward to collaborating with other artists and producers on new releases, I think it’s a great way to keep music fresh and innovative. I’m always working on new music and exploring different sounds and ideas. Right now, I’ve got a few projects in the works that I’m really excited about. I don’t want to give away too much just yet, but I can say that I’ve been experimenting with some new production techniques and collaborating with some incredibly talented artists. One thing I can promise is that my new releases will reflect my ambition to push the boundaries of electronic music and I can’t wait for my fans to hear what I have in store.

Stay tuned for updates.

What do you know now that you wish you knew when you began writing/producing music?What advice would you give to an artist just starting out today?

I wish I knew more about the technical side of music production when I first started out. In the early days, I admit that I often struggled to achieve the sounds I wanted and I’d often spend hours trying to figure out how to make things work. However, I’ve since gained a wealth of knowledge and experience in the field, and I encourage aspiring producers to focus on developing their technical skills alongside their creativity. Also, I want to emphasise the importance of perseverance and not being too hard on oneself in the early stages of one’s career, as learning and growth take time. I suggest new artists focus on creating music that they enjoy and not worry too much about pleasing others. Staying true to oneself and a strong creative vision is key.

Overall, my advice for new artists is to stay dedicated, keep learning, and enjoy the process of creating music.

Discover, collect and share music you love

Check out emanate

Join the emanate Discord

--

--