get to know: VOIDCHASER

Pat Lewis
Emanate.live
3 min readAug 15, 2022

--

Throughout August, we’re focussing on all things Drum and Bass. The history, the styles, the sounds and most importantly: the artists.

So who better to speak to than Drum and Bass producer, VOIDCHASER. Living in the birth place of Drum and Bass, he has been producing music since he was a teen and dropping some awesome tracks to emanate since its inception.

Listen to VOIDCHASER while you read

Hey VOIDCHASER. So tell us, how did you first get into music production?

I always wanted to make music when I grew up. As the years went by and I learned of more genres as my tastes changed, I came across the ability to create music on a computer at home. I downloaded the demo versions of Ableton and FL Studio during my last year of secondary school. I chose to devote my free time to learning all the intricacies of the production landscape, such as techniques and arrangement and sound design.

What drew you to Drum and Bass music?

Personally, as a multi-genre artist, Drum and Bass music has always had this nostalgic feel as it originates from the country that I have lived in all my life. Hence, I sort of just grew up with that fast-paced melodic energy.

Drum and Bass has a lot of sub-genres, where would you say your sound sits?

I have never put much thought into where my sounds sit as I try to incorporate as many sounds that work together into a single project, however, I would say it’s somewhere between Jump-Up and Liquid/Melodic-DnB.

When you’re writing a new song, where do you start?

I always start with my main idea (the drop). I feel like if I can make a compelling theme I can build the rest of the track around it.

Is there a song you’re particularly proud of?

Working with my sister-in-law was a fantastic experience, the track we made together ‘Late Night Drive’ is probably one of my favourite Drum and Bass songs I have written. I have a few ideas that I am excited to show off and that I am proud of but I am unsure as to when their release will be.

You’re an early adopter of Web3, what interested you the most about it?

Initially what drew me to the web3 space is the ability for artists of all types to be able to get more fairly paid for their creations so that they can continue to do what they love and not have to rely on other forms of income.

Where do you think music is heading in regards to web3?

I am honestly uncertain of the future of music when it comes to decentralisation and web3 but I am always learning new things every day about the subject.

Are you working on anything new at the moment?

I am always working on lots of ideas, it’s just a shame the majority of them will never see the light of day until they are ready. If I had to be a tease I can say that I am working on a few more Drum and Bass songs and some Deep/Melodic and Tech House tracks that I would like to get released within this year!

Thanks for chatting with us! We can’t wait to hear what you drop next.

Like what you hear? Follow VOIDCHASER on Instagram and Twitter

A community that instantly rewards artists and music lovers for their creative expression and dedication to music.

Join the emanate Discord

Check out emanate

--

--