Your Mind Is Like A Pimple

sometimes you just gotta wait to let it pop

Kasia Patzelt
Embodied Thinking

--

Ok, I know, for some of you that may sound really gross. But after this title popped into my mind, I googled pimple squeezing obsession, and, uff, thank goodness, I’m not the only one out there. Chances are you may share this weird urge with me. Very probable if you clicked on this article!

Back to the topic though. What does pimple squeezing have to do with the mind, excuse me!?

Well, think about it this way. What is a pimple? It’s impurities that your system wants to expel. They start accumulating under the surface, the surface gets red and a bit itchy maybe. Definitely tempting to play with it. If you do share some of my obsession, you will be right at it, fiddling around, trying to get rid of the little sucker. In the process probably making it worse.

You squeeze once, didn’t work. Leave it alone for a few hours and then, you can’t help yourself, you try again…surely it’s already ready! In your mind visualizing all the gross stuff oozing out, your brain anticipating the dopamine-induced satisfaction and relief!

But no, you tried, it didn’t work. Now the fucker is infected and red and looks ten times worse than before. Maybe you bruised it so hard, it started bleeding (without the impurities coming out!) and it could even…

--

--