Stoic Reflections Issue №11

“A Sensual Life is a Miserable Life” — Seneca

Matthew David
Embodying Philosophy

--

Photo by Dieter Blom on Unsplash

At the end of this calendar year, I am moving back to NYC. I am going to be living in a room that can fit a full size bed, a desk, and maybe some storage pieces.

My family doesn’t understand. Currently I am living in the suburbs of Connecticut, I have a job that isn’t demanding, and it’s located in a great area.

Isn’t this what the meaning of life is? If it is, why does all of it feel so empty?

Epicurean Comfort

They’re all confused because they want comfort above all. They are essentially Epicurean at heart. That’s not to say they don’t struggle; everyone goes through their trials in their own lives, and some of my family has confronted their struggles bravely and honorably.

It makes sense that some of them would rather be done battling the struggles of life and strive for internal and external calm like Epicurus did. Especially the older members of my family.

Some of my family members do strive and don’t cave in the face of challenges; but they want these challenges to bring them material wealth or fortune or all of those things that come with status. The striving is merely a means to an end, but the end is just a mental slavery to material wealth and…

--

--

Matthew David
Embodying Philosophy

Philosopher. Writer. Coffee Addict. I write about Philosophy from the Ancient Greeks to Existentialism. https://medium.com/@matthew-david/about ←Learn more here