Style Gems: Everything I Wore When I Tried The Tie-Dye Trend In Delaware

My family promised a good time in Dover, and they didn’t disappoint.

Emerald Elitou
Style Gems
Published in
5 min readAug 31, 2022

--

Style Gems: Everything I Wore… is a column created by beauty and style journalist, Emerald Elitou. The diary-style series highlights her fashionable adventures through her first-hand experiences. She chose to visit the first state, Delaware, in this story.

Crooklyn has always been one of my favorite summer movies. While I enjoyed every moment of the Spike Lee cinema, I especially loved when Troy (played by Zelda Harris) took a much-needed break from the bustling city and spent the summer with her cousin in the south.

As a city kid, I yearned for the chance to ride bikes in the suburbs and experience the southern charm that I had always heard so much about from my parents. In my adult years, I never miss the opportunity to take a break from my big city lifestyle — especially if it gives me the opportunity to take a southbound ride in a luxury car and reconnect with the ones I love.

Like many, my love for travel was thwarted during the pandemic. Thankfully, things are getting back to normal this summer. I personally decided to kickstart my summer adventures with a fabulous staycation, which I documented in my previous post.

Next up on my agenda? “The First State” for a week-long visit with my fun-loving Aunt and her family.

There are several famous people who have Delaware roots, including Harriet Tubman who spent time in the first state as she helped people travel the underground railroad to freedom.

African-American abolitionist and founder of the first Black Episcopalian congregation in 1794, Absalom Jones was born in Sussex County, Delaware. He was later revered as a co-founder of the Free African Society with Richard Allen in 1787, a mutual aid society for African Americans in the city.

I also discovered that Grammy award-winning reggae artist, Stephen Marley was born in Wilmington, Delaware.

To make the two-hour trip to Dover, Delaware, I packed my spacious CALPAK Ambeur Medium Luggage ($245) with nine days’ worth of clothing (yes, I’m an over-packer) and headed out on the road in a 2022 Volvo XC40.

Let me say this once — the XC40 is not your grandfather’s Volvo. For more than 30 years, Volvo has given drivers nothing short of a smooth experience while traveling great distances, but the XC40 was a car lover’s dream — sleek, luxurious, and definitely a head-turner.

I was impressed with the high-tech safety technologies like the Pilot Assist and BLIS (Blind Spot Information), automatic push-start panoramic roof, 360-degree surround-view camera, slots for smartphones and cards, a waste bin in the center console, and a 9-inch touchscreen that features everything you need to navigate in style. As for the ride, the sporty compact SUV felt like riding on a cloud.

Speaking of being on cloud nine, my trip was just what I needed to unwind and reconnect with my family. In the spirit of good vibes only, I leaned into the tie-dye trend that frequently showed up on my timeline.

A photo collage of Emerald Elitou floating in pool and posing near Volvo XC40
Photo Courtesy of AE Photography

Not one to forego fashion, even when adventuring with my family on a nature walk, I paired the tie-dyed tee with Mavi’s Edera Ripped Vintage Denim Overalls ($118), Italic Gold Tube Hoop Earrings ($230), and Nadri Social Lights Green Double Layer Necklace ($75).

I can honestly say that the assortment of colors in my shirt perfectly complemented the soft life aesthetic I was going for.

As a self-proclaimed fragrance fan, I wanted my aroma to match my aura. That’s why I turned to the sweet scent of Ibiza Nights eau de parfum from the Carner Barcelona Dreams Collection. The fragrance is available at LUXSB.com, a subscription service that offers several travel-friendly products that I love.

No summer vacation would be complete without a day at the pool. The poolside moment provided the perfect opportunity for me to break out of my Kaiso. Swim Ivy One-Piece Swimsuit ($75), which features the brand’s Flora & Fauna print and a body sculpting effect. I matched the extremely flattering one-piece with a pair of bright orange shorts to take my poolside style to the next level.

A photo collage of Emerald Elitou celebrating her birthday while posing in a Cupshe wrap dress.
Photo Courtesy of AE Photography

Before heading back north, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that my Aunt decided to celebrate my birthday early with a surprise party equipped with decorations and a cake. Thank goodness I came prepared for a “special occasion” and wore my Flared Sleeve V-neck Ditsy Dress ($30) from Cupshe, sandals from Coco Blue Shoes (which are unfortunately no longer available on the site), and elegant jewelry from Nadri, including the 8MM Genuine Freshwater Pearl Necklace ($78) and 8MM Genuine Freshwater Pearl And CZ Drop Earrings ($145). I not only felt beautiful, but I also felt loved!

Photo Courtesy of AE Photography

Overall, the week was filled with fun, family, food, and a peaceful good time. If you have a chance to break from your hectic schedule, I highly suggest you take the time to visit some loved ones for a few days of fun. I promise you, it will be something you talk about for days on end.

Until my next adventure, keep shining!

--

--

Emerald Elitou
Style Gems

Emerald Elitou—a Philadelphia native—has used her love for writing to create stories about fashion, beauty, and fine dining that shared her insider expertise.