Traveling

Flemming Funch
Emergent Realities
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2017

Before waking up, I was having this lucid dream where I was trying to help myself while I was a bit stuck in another sort of lucid dream. You know, help myself as a therapist, as I might assist somebody else who was feeling a bit stuck. The way I was stuck is kind of a recurring theme in mostly lucid dreams I have. I’m traveling, and I know I need to make it back to the airport or the ferry or the train station or something, and I know the departure time is a little later today, but I just can’t concentrate on what it takes to get there, and I’m worried about missing my departure. I try to look at my paperwork and at my clock, and I try to think about what that means, but it is all just incredibly blurry, and I can’t make sense of it. I can interact fine with the local environment, which in this case was an abandoned storage room in a garage with interesting books, in a museum or theatre somewhere in Spain that I had taken the bus to. I can keep exploring that, and it is very interesting. There was a Danish book about being organized, and there was a bunch of corporate seal stamps lying on the floor. But when I try to concentrate on where I need to go and when, I just don’t succeed. So, my next level self tries to help that self overcome the problem. I try a variety of things, like exploring the feeling of being blocked, which was very specifically in my stomach, and where that might have come from in the past. So that led to a detour into various past traumatic incidents, and then back again. And I tried modeling the required skill from elsewhere, from others that do it well. Still, I just couldn’t concentrate on figuring out how to get to the right place. Eventually I came up with the approach of just asking myself to remember what “home” is, and that seemed to work, and created a strong sense of what that was like. And, whoosh, a moment later I then woke up in my bed in Copenhagen, where we lived over 30 years ago, recognizing all of that in great detail. Apparently I didn’t really need to catch a plane, I just needed to think about where I wanted to go. Which in this case was back in my bed. But, well, the more present me is watching that, still in the second lucid dream. So, quite satisfied that I finally succeeded in helping myself, I then woke up here this morning.

--

--

Flemming Funch
Emergent Realities

Surprisingly Respectful Dialogues, Collaborative Magic, and General Anarchy