Buying Plus-Size Clothes at Thrift Stores is a Pain in the A**

Decent options are scarce because they’re in high demand… and skinny people buy them for crafting purposes.

Misty Fritz
6 min readMar 18, 2019
Image by Airdrie on Flickr

I’ve lost more than 100 pounds in a little over a year and am still losing. As such, the contents of my closet have dwindled drastically. That’s annoying enough on a day-to-day basis; I don’t want to spend a bunch of money on clothes I will only wear for a short time, so I end up wearing the same outfits over and over and over again.

But now I’m on the job market, and that means I’m going to need interview clothes. I have one dressier shirt that I adore, but it’s a cold-shoulder style that isn’t really interview-appropriate (though I did make it work for one earlier this winter by not taking my coat off — the temperature was hovering well below freezing at that point and even one of the interviewers had their coat on). Since I’m currently unemployed, I can’t be spending any more money on clothes than absolutely necessary.

This weekend, I had a mission: find some interview-appropriate clothes without breaking the bank. That meant thrift stores. There aren’t any in my tiny rural town, so I went to a town about eight miles away, which has a Goodwill and a Salvation Army (I don’t typically like to support SA, but…

--

--

Misty Fritz

Nerdy, liberal, bisexual woman in a tiny Illinois town who had RNY gastric bypass in February 2018.