Richard Branson’s simple tip for being productive

Emi Gal
Emi Gal
Published in
1 min readJan 16, 2011

The story goes that one day, a journalist was attending a press conference with Sir Richard Branson on Necker Island, talking about one of his new charities. At one point, the journalist asked Sir Richard what advice he has for those who want to be more productive. His answer was completely unexpected and incredibly simple: “work out”.

When we exercise our body releases endorphins, which are known for being able to produce a feeling of well-being. Which leads to a clearer mind and the ability to focus. Which leads to increased productivity.

I’ve decided to go to the gym 2–3 times / week this year, and because I’m a metrics buff I’ve decided to measure its impact on my productivity. I’m tracking it by using RescueTime, and because I’ve been using it for a couple of years I will be able to compare it with last year and draw some conclusions, which I’ll share with you later in the year. Wish me luck! :)

--

--

Emi Gal
Emi Gal

Romanian entrepreneur and software engineer living in New York. CEO & co-founder of Ezra. Previously CEO & co-founder of Brainient (acquired by Teads)