2024 Summer in Taiwan reflections

Emily Li
Emily’s Simple Abundance
6 min readJul 12, 2024

Blessed with a 7-week break, I enjoyed the precious vacation in Taichung where several rituals kept me grounded. Transitions are apt for re-orienting and building new habits; it is a piece of white paper where we start anew. Sentences in “The Parable of the Trapeze” stayed close to my heart during this phase. “Every once in a while, as I’m merrily swinging along, I look out ahead of me and what do I see? I see another trapeze bar swinging toward me. It’s empty and I know that this new trapeze bar has my name on it. It is my next step, my growth, my aliveness coming to get me. For me to grow, I must release my grip of this present, well-know bar and move to the new one.”

Transitions can also be difficult — after this 7-week interlude, time has come to pack my bags for the next destination. Leaving the familiarity of home for a new journey can be daunting, but I hope each “transition experience” makes the next one smoother. “Each time, I am filled with terror. It doesn’t matter that in all my previous hurtles across the void of unknowing I have always made it. I am each time afraid that I will miss, that I will be crushed on unseen rocks in the bottomless chasm between bars. I do it anyway.” Nevertheless, family support, experience shared from seniors, and literature have always served as great stabilizers for the next endeavor.

During these weeks, academic study, catchups with old pals, and creative pursuits kept me grounded. Some plans were executed with precision, while others were let go after initial fervor. « C’est le temps que tu as perdu pour ta rose qui fait ta rose si importante. », said the little prince. Consistency, hard work, and good rhythm are called for.

Visiting 澤民樹 with Mom and Grandma one summer afternoon

Academic pursuits

1. French courses at E*** French:

I enjoyed learning with professor F*******, who not only taught the French language, but broadened my horizons in French culture and language pursuits. We explored hemes including les émeutes en Nouvelle Caledonie, le dirigent de la Société Générale, et les élections législatives françaises de 2024. Spanning geopolitics, demographics, business, and cultural dynamics, I found that the cultural diversity and historical understanding are the key to understanding contemporary French issues. Understanding the cultural essence requires extensive reading of selective media and books instead of consuming bits and pieces of information on social media. “Apprendre le francais, c’est pour l’ouverture de ton esprit, et pour comprendre des sujets plus complexes. Travailler ton niveau. Lire beaucoup, apprendre la vocabulaire, et connaître les apprentissages culturels.”, said F*******.

2. WSP Financial modelling course: There are 6 modules in WSP’s online certification, and the rigorous and detailed courses were extremely helpful in building a good foundation in financial modelling. After completing the first 2 modules, financial statements and DCF modelling, one could utilize such knowledge in building valuation models. Grateful to have the chance to integrate such learning in building the models of S** and H******, as learning works best by putting knowledge into practice and understanding our blind spots.

3. Daily markets: During the past 4 years, absorbing daily market movements and summarizing its ramifications succinctly was a part of my daily routine in global markets. I tried to keep up the momentum by documenting daily highlights, but it became a customary “high-level” glimpse a few weeks into the summer — an area for improvement.

4. Course wavier exam preparations: Prepared for accounting and statistic course waivers through online learning of pre-recorded sessions.

5. Reading: I wrote book reviews for 傅雷家書 and Poor Richard’s Almanac in the end of May during my travels to China, and read Chip War, The Social Animal, and Benjamin Franklin: An American life. I put the first one on pause as it drilled into detailed industry dynamics, but it is an interesting book that provided a good introduction to the semiconductor and technology industry. I didn’t read as much as I planned, and I found that I read more during independent travels: on the train and during moments of solitude.

Catchups in Taichung

I was grateful that D**** spent two weeks at home before his summer activities in university, with the ambiance at home enlivened with our sarcastic jokes, deliberate drama, and jockeying acts. I’ve learned immensely from our disparate personalities, with such diversity reflected in working styles, recreation preferences, to interpersonal communication. Yet, time has proven that people find their ways with different time frames and working styles, and that there is no one way better than the other. I was impressed with his growth and maturity these years in university and feel happy that it is time to “let go”, where superfluous concerns have no place as he is venturing on his own pathway with sound judgement and blooming character. It is a privilege to have spent time together this summer, and always a joy to exchange thoughts on unserious matters as well as earnest ones. “It is important to share genuine praise when you see merits and virtues in someone. It serves as a lighthouse during darker days, as people build confidence to walk out of challenging times.”, said G*****.

I was blessed to meet up with teachers and classmates from Stella Matutina. These warm gatherings with old pals remind us of our old identities and how we have grown with different life journeys. G*****’s sharing of her journey of the Camio de Santiago inspired us — she is a lifelong learner with a positive and open-minded spirit, and a blessing for students with her mentorship and guidance.

Creative pursuits

1. Morning writing pursuits: After visiting 孫中山故居 in Shanghai, I’ve treasured a beautiful notebook that serves as my a reminder of the inspiration from the visit. I’ve found writing introspective reflections on the notebook meditative, as our sharp focus and retrospections from the previous day come easily to the unperturbed mind in the morning.

2. Tennis: It was a joy to pick up a new sport, but my new commitments have never been impulsive as tennis has been a curious pursuit since university. I was grateful to have invited Mom to take semi-weekly courses together, as the continuous improvement and the movements in open air were liberating and gratifying. Just a beginner in front of a long journey and looking forward to stepping back into courts!

3. Giving (back): We have a lot to give — whether it is sharing our experiences with altruism and lending a helping hand, being mindful with the individual around us, or being deeply committed to the task at hand. Coaching and mentorship have played a huge role in my academic and professional journey in Hong Kong and Taiwan. I’ve encountered many industry veterans or teachers who are generous in their time and guidance, but I realize you never have to reach any level of expertise to be the one for others to lean on. Guidance from my mentors C**** and G***** rhyme: “Every time you get a chance to help someone, you are paying forward the help you are getting some point in time. Sometimes you need to lean on someone, sometimes you need to be the person for others to lean on.” And 「以善意待他人,幫忙他人可能是我們的舉手之勞,卻可能對他人有不少的幫助。」

Reflections

These weeks at home blessed me with liberty to explore creative pursuits with consistency, try out new hobbies, and reflect in equanimity. I hope to integrate these values that I hold dear: (1) 把握當下,珍惜緣分,不過也不需執著、能放下:緣盡祝福,心懷感激 (2) 做好每個階段的本分,努力認真的生活,邁向目標 (3) 天道酬勤,人道酬善。以善意待他人,心境平和安穩。對我們來說是舉手之勞,對他人可能幫助不少。Grateful for the warmth and kindness that I’ve encountered from individuals, blessing me with inspiration and perspective that I hope to carry with me along the journey! Juste comme les deux arcs-en-ciel que j’ai vu pendant mon dernier cours de tennis, c’est une bénédiction qui reste un trésor toute ma vie.

Beautiful sunrise from my windows one early morning :)

--

--