Amsterdam Noord: Wetlands Biking

Emily Li
Emily’s Simple Abundance
2 min readMar 31, 2019

Amsterdam Noord, a quaint wetland neighborhood separated from Central with a 5 minute ferry ride radiated drastically different vibes from the busy city center. I boarded the ferry with my rented bike and roamed the vast wetlands on two wheels. With nicely furbished cycling paths, I followed the routes from the residential center towards flat grassy plains, and stretching towards the calm and idyllic water lands.

I was blessed with extremely warm weather, with the sun shining brightly while the wind hustled along my back. With seagulls, pelicans, and a few white ducks resting along the farm canals, the Noord wetlands were deserted under the open air. Tranquil, vast, and flat, the idyllic village was lined with seaside houses that were highly homogenous in form. Most residences were of 3 stories high, with half a story submerged underground. The huge white framed windows, the bench facing the sun, and the simple architecture from the late 19th and early 20th Century lined in harmony.

This cycling trip to Amsterdam Noord also taught me about my physical limits in roaming on a bike. I found that the road signs were listed in “miles” instead of “kilometers”, so I underestimated the proximity of the ride. A 30 mile ride turned out to be physically straining when conducted nonstop, as I found that walking/hiking/running/cycling are fundamentally different outdoor pursuits. When hiking or walking, you can slow down your pace and take a rest when needed. Cycling, on the other hand, is a different story. The bike halts completely when you take a rest, there are just two options: going forward or stopping completely. In the end of the day, biking is one of the best ways to roam the country with comfortable speed, yet route calculations and stopping points should be taken into account as well.

--

--