Istanbul 2019: Trip Reflections

Emily Li
Emily’s Simple Abundance
4 min readMay 26, 2019

This trip to Istanbul marks one of my last travels in the exchange semester, and it is of great significance due to many reasons. It is my first time venturing into an Islamic country with such exotic cultural practices and religious faith. It also marks ten years since I met Jennifer, when she walked up to my table in the summer of 2010, and asked, “Hey, can I borrow this Percy Jackson book?” Since then, the magic potion of friendship has taken effect ever since, through six years in the same classroom, and another beautiful semester in Paris.

Istanbul’s sunset was dramatic, as floods of colors radiate the sky into a palette of gunpower pink and turquoise-violet.

I walked along the Galata bridge with Jennifer that beautiful evening, with the air was full of emotion, color, and memories. I will remember that magical moment and cherish this friend who accompanied me in living passionately — on exotic travels, outdoor explorations, language learning, and cultural pursuits.

This trip made me reflect deeply on friendships, people, and lifelong sharing. I took a food tour during the second day, accompanied by 3 pairs of elderly Israeli couples. They were all in their seventies, yet extremely jovial and convivial with non-stop dramatic conversation. They took life slowly, lingering before Turkish stalls (which drove our guide restless haha), sampling Turkish delights, making jokes on each other, and reminiscing old memories on past trips. The ambience was warm, magical, and jovial, and I reflected on joys of friendship and companionship “for life”. “How long are you married?”, asked our Turkish guide. “Forty years.”, said one of the couples. “I am very happy.”, added the lady. Those four words, simple yet abundant, soft yet far-reaching, stayed inside my heart.

Meeting up with fellow backpacking students (friends of Jennifer) also made me realize the essence of sharing openly and conviviality. “It’s all about sincerity, kindness, and being open and respectful.” I remember one of our rooftop dinners, when our talk seemed to go on forever, echoing the night with travel experiences, future blueprint, environment comparisons, and cultural sensitivity. We talked about how experiences in university and twenties shape and change personality, how education in the US/Europe/Asia vary by instructing method, education objective, student mindset, and timeliness for training. We pondered on varying living and studying environments going forward. Throughout the conversation, I also reflected on my personal transition. Jennifer pointed out, “Emily was quite timid in high school. She changed a lot in interacting with people, throughout these years.” University does have a huge impact on people, the foreign environment, the sea of peers, and carving out your own path all shapes up personality, values, and ethics. Confidence in sharing your experiences, telling a good story, compassion for individuals from all walks of life, and sensitivity in navigating across ages and cultures all come from experience. I still have a lot to learn, but through observation and interaction, I realized the joy of sharing, listening, and reflecting.

It also made me reflect on my future blueprint. After comparing of university and post graduate studying environments in the US, Europe, and Asia, I had a clearer picture of further education. Thinking through the questions: What kind of training do I need? (Fundamental or industry applied? Specialized or generalized? Theoretical based or practical?) What kind of transition goal do you want to reach? (Changing a working environment? Changing an industry? Further specializing in your field?) When do I need it? These are questions that should be steered clear of before applying to the numerous graduate schools that vary in quality, teaching methods, professor background, and environment, and I realized that firsthand experience and penetrating insights comes from those who are senior in experience.

Asia (Hong Kong, Singapore, Shanghai, Shenzhen), Europe (Paris, UK, Berlin, Amsterdam), and the US (Manhattan…)- there are many thriving cities with abundant opportunities. The world is your stage, those who find an anchor work their way to reach their goal. A will finds a way.

Istanbul during the Ramadan was magical: the echoing cries of prayers, the religious faith, and the westernized practices illuminated the vibrant city in transition. It is a cultural cross road that blends the east and west, a feast to the five senses, thriving with its opulent past and contemporary transformations.

--

--