An Introduction to Emily Coding

Emily Morgan
Emily Coding
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2018

My name is Emily. Nine years ago I got my first career job (not my first job, or even my first full-time job, but the first one that was a true career). I started as an English Professor at a community college in the middle of the country. I taught developmental English, Freshman Composition, and Literature courses (Shakespeare, American Lit, and Short Stories). After 6 years in the middle, I moved back to the East Coast and started at a community college. I added some different classes (Early British Literature), and carried on teaching. But after the transition period, I felt like something needed to be different.

Nathan Dumlao

Do I start on a whole different path? Is that what I need? I worked on those questions and thought a lot. I decided it was time to change careers. But to what?

My sister said I could try coding. I didn’t feel like I had any of the personality traits required to code. But at the same time I was being asked to teach more and more online courses. To try and make those courses better for my students, I was exploring educational technologies. So the idea of coding stuck. And I realized that there is someone out there who actually builds the tools that were making my online classes run. I started coding with free online lessons and discovered there was something here. Something that I really liked.

And then it clicked. They are coding languages. I’m good at language, I’ve been working with it for a long time and I have a variety of skills that make languages easy and workable for me. So I continued. I kept learning, and as I kept learning, I found more and more things that I liked. Coding is a language, but it’s direct and straightforward, not subjective. But even though it’s logical, it is creative. I found that combination really appealing, and I loved seeing an immediate product of what I wrote.

After learning in my “free” time for almost a year, I decided it was time to go all in. I left my teaching career to be a full-time student at Flatiron School. I’m now a graduate and looking for a full-time job while still learning all I can.

--

--