Develops Pearl and Weed

alexwh
American Poet Emily Dickinson
1 min readJun 18, 2014

--

I am married to a snob. This is not something abnormal in my life as my mother and my grandmother were both snobs as is my first cousin and godmother Inesita. Polygonums are notorious weeds. It seems that even their leaves look like the leaves of weed. In our garden, over the objections of the Chief Snob I have some tal, over 6 feet, polygonums with creamy white flowers. They grow in deep shade where few other plants manage. I decided to cut the flowers of one and scan. I believe that this “weed” is beautiful and even if it might look like one it keeps to itself and rarely marches forward as some of Rosemary’s non weeds!

732 Emily Dickinson

SHE rose to his requirement, dropped

The playthings of her life

To take the honorable work

Of woman and of wife.

If aught she missed in her new day

Of amplitude, or awe,

Or first prospective, or the gold

In using wore away,

It lay unmentioned, as the sea

But only to himself is known

The fathoms they abide.

Link to: Develops Pearl And Weed

--

--

alexwh
American Poet Emily Dickinson

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net