Painting By: Peter Wood (to purchase art by Peter Wood click here)

In Your Eyes

Avi Fleischer
Emotional Echoes
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2019

--

A poem about self-reflection. (Authored in 1998)

In your eyes I see compassion behind a bitter smile.
A glint of insecurity, masked by the emotions that swim within your heart,
hidden behind lust that wants to free itself from the confines of your conscience. Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see Confusion.

In your eyes I see tears, but I don’t know their secrets.
They well up in your soul and pour forth without fear,
for sadness shares no shame, just as happiness cures the soul.
Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see Sadness.

In your eyes I see longing, a search for the truth.
But at the same time, I see the fear of deceit, the fear of what truth may bring.
Yet the longing strives on, for hope is the fuel of the soul.
Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see Fear.

In your eyes I see inspiration as you try to choose the right path.
As you flee from your past, into your unknown future,
yet you are stuck at a fork in the road and don’t know which path to choose.
Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see battle between Heart and Soul.

In your eyes I see fleeting images as they flash inside your brain.
They take shape slowly and vanish into your soul where they are buried,
in a place so deep that time does not exist, and pain is not felt, where secrets reign. Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see Dreams.

In your eyes I see joy flowing through your veins like uncontrollable waves,
while your mind swims in emotions that your body can’t comprehend.
I see confusion mixed with hate, that blooms into a rose with a stem filled with thorns. Yes, when I look in your eyes, I see Love.

--

--