Painting By: Peter Wood (to purchase art by Peter Wood click here)

I’ve Met Heartache

Avi Fleischer
Emotional Echoes
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2021

--

A Poem About Heartbreak And Moving On.

There was something about her, both inside and out,
little things are what mattered, what I’d think about.
Yet the little things are what would give her away,
Her dubious manner, the things she would say.

My heart is hurting, I can’t hide the pain,
I want to understand love, so this won’t happen again.
For with love comes emotions that do not abate,
Now I know I’ve met heartache, a grim twist of fate.

Something had changed since we’d last been together,
Ironic, this happened in dark rainy weather.
Raindrops, like teardrops, fell from above,
What was once is now ended… so goeth love.

My heart is hurting, I can’t hide the pain,
I want to understand love, so this won’t happen again.
For with love comes emotions that do not abate,
Now I know I’ve met heartache, a grim twist of fate.

I must make a decision without use of my heart.
Move on from this quickly? Let it tear me apart?
My eyes remain dry, filled with unspoken tears,
For I’ve been here before, though it’s been many years.

My heart is hurting, I can’t hide the pain,
I want to understand love, so this won’t happen again.
For with love comes emotions that do not abate,
Now I know I’ve met heartache, a grim twist of fate.

I will choose to move on, like I’ve done once before.
And the pain will persist, it may even grow more.
I will heal over time, and a scar will endure,
A reminder of tainted past love it ensures.

And then…

Unexpectedly, in a future I’ve come to doubt,
That which I seek, will no longer be, that which I live without.
My heart will sing, my soul will soar and I will clearly see,
What I thought true love before, was but a forgery.

--

--