Welcome!

Hello fellow self-improvers and skill developers,

My name is Lisa and this publication is going to be dedicated to my research on the soft skill commonly referred to as “Emotional Intelligence.”

Don’t click away yet! Emotional Intelligence is crucial not only in the current workplace, but in the whole of today’s society. Our relationship with ourselves and with those around us is dependent on our mastery of this skill.

Intrigued yet? Allow me to continue- I wanted to pursue this subject because I believe it’s an extremely important skill that is unfortunately often overlooked. By honing in on this skill, I can strengthen my relationships, socialize and communicate more effectively, and build an even stronger network. And guess what? So can you!

I would like to develop one part of Emotional Intelligence at a time because when I focus on one area at a given moment, I can really dedicate all my energy to it and improve it significantly rather than spreading myself too thin. Additionally, each part builds off of one another, so by developing one piece at a time, it’ll be easier to improve in the other areas.

I also want to know the specific soft skills that fall under the umbrella of Emotional Intelligence. By learning this, it provides a list of skills to practice that will raise our EQ.

I am going to actively work to improve my Emotional Intelligence by learning from others. I’m going to observe how others interact with each other and find what works and doesn’t work. I’m also going to learn from my friends’ interactions. If they’re telling me about a bad interaction they’ve had that day, I’ll inquire what about that interaction made it bad. Was it because they were a bad listener? No eye contact? They couldn’t read body language? Through this, I’ll know what people look for and will pay closer attention to those details in the future. I can also apply these questions to my own interactions with others.

I am going to measure my progress by my level of comfort in social situations, positive interactions with others, and feedback from my friends on my growth in Environmental Intelligence. I’m also going to look for different Emotional Intelligence tests I could take before and after this project to see if my research prompted any change.

So please, embark on this journey with me as I research what Emotional Intelligence is, how to practice it, and finally how to drive success with this new tool in our professional toolbox!

--

--