Checking my Emotional Intelligence

Sangwon Ahn
Emotional intelligence
3 min readMar 5, 2018

--

A picture is worth a thousand words. — Kenneth Turnbull

For the last two stories, I studied about how to interpret and manage other people’s emotion. I already practiced for identifying and managing my emotion in the first two stories, so I wanted to practice other skills in an actual situation. And then, I realized that I have an opportunity every Sunday. So, I carried out my plan today.

Consulting Session at Church

Every Sunday, I go to a Korean church in Buffalo. At there, we formed a group of people to study bible and talk about each other. Like every Sunday, people in my group gathered for a group meeting today. After bible studying, we have time for speaking each one of member’s worries and troubles. Usually, the leader of this group listens well and tries to encourage them. This time, however, I decided to try to empathize and make proper questions for them. When newest member of my group revealed his feelings about his life, I was making eye contact with him and echoing what he was saying like “don’t know about your long-term goal…. I see.” I tried my best to understand his situation. And then, I thought for myself about what question should I come up with for him. He said he has no idea about his long-term life goals and that makes him nervous. So I said to him, “That is one of the reasons you come to church, right? Then, how about trying to get an answer for your worry? There are many wise people who can advise you.” Actually, I am not sure that was the best answer I can think of at that time. But still, I tried to design the question fitted to him and he said ‘thank you’ to me later.

Good way to make relationship

After that session, we exchanged each other’s contact information and made an appointment to meet soon. And then I thought this is a really good way to make a good relationship. This is one of the strengths of emotional intelligence. It can make your network broader. By practicing methods that I researched, I have felt the power of EI. If I practice this more, my emotional intelligence would be way better than before.

--

--

Sangwon Ahn
Emotional intelligence
0 Followers

University at Buffalo. Sophomore. Accounting Major