Interpreting People’s Emotion

Sangwon Ahn
Emotional intelligence

--

“When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.”
― Ernest Hemingway

From the last two story, I had focused on my emotion. Now, I am going to practice the ability to interpret other’s emotion. To know what other people feel, the first thing to do is listen what they say. The word “listen”’s definition is ‘give one’s attention to a sound.’ However, there are many people who do not listen well to others. I sometimes don’t listen to others as well. When I was researching about how to improve listening skill, I found out a great blog post about this from my fellow student.

Empathy

The blog post I read was Lisa Marcellus’s “Empathy.” In this writing, She is talking about how to improve empathy skill. When I read this, I immediately thought empathy is the skill that I need to apply to listen well and get a better understanding of other’s feelings. She wrote that she likes to think of empathy as putting yourself in someone else’s shoes. This is the essence of listening. We should be more sensitive to the speaker. Furthermore, she introduced 4 training methods; Active listening, echoing, making good eye contact, and reading body languages. They are all good methods the most interesting way to me was echoing. According to her, echoing is “repeating what the other person said to show you listened and are trying to understand” (Marcellus 2018). By saying what speakers said, not only we can think about what they feel like, but also we can assure them that we are paying attention to you.

Have an Interest in People’s Speaking

Thanks to her, I have got an advice about how to practice my listening skill. This practice would help me to emphasize the speaker’s situation and know what they think and feel.

Source.

Lisa, Marcellus (2018, February 27). Empathy. [Web log post]. Retrieved from https://medium.com/emotional-intelligence-learn-practice-apply/empathy-ccf65fa01d40

--

--

Sangwon Ahn
Emotional intelligence
0 Followers

University at Buffalo. Sophomore. Accounting Major