You Hurt Me

Sabina Masanabo
Emotional Pieces
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2017

“Never love somebody with your whole heart.

Always leave room for disappointments.”

I guess with you I should’ve left plenty.

How often do you hurt me?

This is your newly acquired skill.

Something you do so well with your eyes closed.

You hurt me

What was I thinking when I allowed you to come closer?

To promise me the heavens only to drag my soul to hell.

Maybe I’m cursed.

Maybe this ‘love thing’ isn’t for sensitive people like me.

When I love I love for real.

What I feel isn’t excitement or attraction.

I thought our connection was real.

How foolish of me!

You hurt me

The first time I traveled on the love lane

Was the first time I got involved in an accident.

No… I don’t doubt your love for me.

I just dislike the way you love me sometimes.

The way you brush me off like an irritating sales call.

Treat me like I’m nothing to you.

“You teach people how to treat you” — Dr Phil

I guess my silence and forgiveness has taught you well.

Now I know pain.

I drink my milk with sadness.

An emptiness you cannot begin to fathom.

You hurt me

This all began when I shared my life with you.

When I gave you so much of me although it was hard.

I told you I had trust issues, you promised.

You held me in your gentle arms and lied to me.

The warmth of your chest made me believe everything.

Both the lies and the obvious truth.

You hurt me

At the end of the day, my love…

You are human.

I promised I’d love you with all your flaws,

As you did to me.

However, I’m human too.

I can’t help but feel pain when you’ve caused it unknowingly.

Maybe I’ll forgive you.

Maybe I’m stressing over nothing.

How long can we hold on to something that’s breaking little by little?

You hurt me

Just how strong am I?

--

--

Sabina Masanabo
Emotional Pieces

The best things in life are often forgotten. It’s about time we remember…