“Hey, how are you?”

I had one goal in mind.

Cam Jensen
Empathy Cafe
May 9, 2022

--

Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

I had one goal in mind.

To simply get to the other side of the room and to avoid conversation with anyone.

I was nearly at the other side when someone said to me, “Hey! How are you?”

I froze, as I did not know if I should give them the truth or the cover story on how I am doing.

I try my best to smile and I say, “I’m good.” After saying that, I zone out. I hear nothing else.

You see the thing is, I’m not “good.”

I am waiting for the day for someone to ask how I’m doing, and I can say that I am actually good.

I’m hoping that day comes soon.

--

--

Cam Jensen
Empathy Cafe

My name is Cam(She/Her, They/Them) I am a young writer and I love to share my stories and thoughts with the world :D