Max Lucado Made Me Sad

Ok, fine, not too sad, but it didn’t encourage me at all.

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe
Jan 30, 2023

--

It was supposed to be an uplifting break from the heavy theological books I have been reading lately!

Lucado’s book is acceptable for people going through a winter in their life; there is hope, he says, and spring will come sooner or later. He uses the book of Esther and the story about the Jews being spared certain death.

It doesn’t speak to me, though.

You see, I am not going through a transitory season in my life. Winter is here to stay; there’s no spring on the horizon. Not at all. My diagnoses are chronic, meaning they are PERMANENT.

Do you hear that, Max? You left me out.

--

--

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

I rather be excluded for who I include, than included for who I exclude // co-founder of empathy.cafe