Speak Up When Needed

When it’s too late, it all runs fake.

BriJR98
Empathy Cafe
2 min readMay 25, 2022

--

View through airplane window of clouds and wing.

Safely fastened into my seat with novel in hand, I was prepared for take off. Grateful for a window view, I selfishly hoped that the other two seats next to me would stay unoccupied. Uneventful was my plan for the next two and a half hours.

In the final boarding call, a passenger rushed to claim the aisle seat. We exchanged common pleasantries; a simple greeting and determining whether we were going to or from home.

Turning my attention back to the book, I hoped he wouldn’t be a bother. Except that prior to boarding, I’d spotted him at a restaurant bar chugging something stronger than water.

Within moments, he proved me wrong. I was about to be aware of every one of those 150 minutes of flight time. As soon as the flight attendants came around with their drink cart, he started purchasing drinks.

Repeatedly.

To the point where I wondered about airline and transportation policies regarding alcohol usage on flights.

On a good day, my introverted self does not do small talk well. At all. On this day, the more my seat mate drank, the chattier he became. His speech became increasingly slurred. Each sip made him more loopy. He was nonsensical.

If I had graphic design skills back then, I’d use his image for anti-drinking posters.

Yet, I never felt scared. The only time he left his seat was to use the washroom facilities. I was thoroughly annoyed, but grateful to land safely at the intended destination.

After the flight was over and everyone had deplaned is when a couple of flight attendants decided to speak up.

Much too late!

Throughout the flight, no one asked me if I was okay. No one suggested a seat change on the half full plane. No one offered me extra water or snacks for my “troubles”.

No one from the airline uttered a word to me until all was said and done. They had the audacity to express their awe at my peaceful composure. Multiple crew members admired my bravery; that I did well to be this man’s seatmate while he was obviously intoxicated.

In that moment, I saw how critical it is to speak up when there is a need. Especially when someone may be in danger. It’s pointless to say anything after the need has passed. You can’t meet a need when it no longer exists.

When it’s too late, it all runs fake.

--

--

BriJR98
Empathy Cafe

Bri is a writer who is learning to embrace & use her voice to encourage others. She loves her amazing family, tea (with sugar!), and handlettering art.