Support

I don’t like the way they treat you

BriJR98
Empathy Cafe
2 min readMay 10, 2022

--

Public domain photo from Nappy

It was one sentence with a double meaning. In addition to validating my feelings, it also offered a teensy bit of support.

Most of the office had gone to lunch. Together. The place wasn’t sound proof — I was fully aware of their plans. Those meeting customers planned to meet up at the restaurant as soon as possible.

This had become their custom over time. They’d openly make their lunch plans, selecting which restaurant to visit and who would carpool with who. I’d silently countdown 3…2…1… *ring, ring*.

As usual, I was asked to cover the phones during their absence. It was the perfect excuse to avoid inviting me.

That day, only one other colleague remained on our side of the building. Feeling extra brave, for some reason, I found myself asking if she didn’t feel like joining the group.

Her response was simple and honest.

“No. Because I don’t like the way they treat you.”

An strange peace came over me in that moment. I was not incensed, disappointed, or sad.

Instead, I was relieved.

My observations had been accurate. The way I’d been treated during my employment was not an outlandish whimsy of my imagination. My coworkers were not acting right. At all.

To the point that it was noticeable to others.

Yet only one chose not to support their nonsensical behavior.

--

--

BriJR98
Empathy Cafe

Bri is a writer who is learning to embrace & use her voice to encourage others. She loves her amazing family, tea (with sugar!), and handlettering art.