The Importance of Self-Care in Maintaining Good Mental Health

I didn’t shave this morning and don’t feel the same.

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

--

You can laugh if you want, but I make the point to shave and trim my beard daily. My wife will love me the same if I don’t, my daughters won’t stop loving me, and my baristas will be fine when I show up at the coffee shop.

But I will love myself better if I take care of myself properly.

Good hygiene is one of the reasons why self-care is essential for maintaining good mental health. Engaging in activities that make us feel good about ourselves, like shaving, trimming our beard, applying makeup and doing our hair, can help boost our self-esteem and self-confidence. This, in turn, can positively impact our mental health as we feel more optimistic about ourselves and our lives.

Also, think about this. Self-care can help us maintain healthy relationships with others. Why? Because when we care for ourselves, we can better show up for others and be present in our relationships. This can help strengthen our connections with others and promote overall well-being.

So, guess whaT I’ll do when I return from Starbucks?

Yup, I’ll shave ツ

--

--

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

I rather be excluded for who I include, than included for who I exclude // co-founder of empathy.cafe