The Role of Mindfulness in Overcoming Anxiety

I know I keep bringing up mindfulness in the blog, but it is doing so much for me that I need to pay it forward.

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

--

Mindfulness is a technique that involves paying attention to the present moment without judgment. In my case, it helps to manage anxiety by slowing down my racing thoughts and reducing the power of negative thoughts, which results in a more balanced perspective.

Mindfulness techniques such as deep breathing exercises and meditation are the most talked about, but for me, what makes a big difference is incorporating mindfulness into everyday activities to manage my anxiety.

That’s where blogging comes into the picture. Writing from a safe place (with the #Loop earplugs on) helps me focus on the piece I’m developing and the readers, thus removing myself (and the negative thoughts) from the equation.

What about you? How do you think you can incorporate mindfulness into your daily routine?

--

--

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

I rather be excluded for who I include, than included for who I exclude // co-founder of empathy.cafe