What if Jesus Had Been a Woman?

Does God have a gender?

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

--

AI Generated / prompt by Josue Sanchez

We know the historical Jesus was a man; I’m not disputing that. But what if he hadn’t? Would Christians treat women differently? (I’m thinking about my denomination, which doesn’t “officially” ordain female ministers)

What about God?

How are we supposed to assign God a gender when They said humans were created in Their image? If that’s true, there are male, female, queer, black, white, indigenous and other traits in God’s nature.

I wish there were a Third Testament in the Bible. One that wasn’t cemented in a patriarchal society. A new covenant that appreciates and celebrates everyone in the world equally. No majorities or minorities. No privileged or discriminated.

I want a woman to look at God and see that she matters so much because God identifies as a woman. And I want a queer individual to see God and know they matter because God identifies as queer.

I made you look, I know.

Listen, as a white cisgender male, I have lived with the privilege of the entire world seeing God as a male. It’s easy to take it for granted, as I have. And most (many?) women have grown to accept it.

But God is beyond gender. We ALL are a reflection of Their glory, made in Their image.

--

--

Josué Sánchez
Empathy Cafe

I rather be excluded for who I include, than included for who I exclude // co-founder of empathy.cafe