Curiosity: vice or virtue?

How my perspective of curiosity has changed

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
1 min readNov 9, 2017

--

Curiosity killed the cat.”

Whether from this proverb or another internalized story, somewhere between childhood and adolescence I began to act as if curiosity was dangerous. Asking questions often made me feel stupid.

College was all about finding the right answer. Passing the test. I naively thought I did (or should) have the answer. Curiosity was for kids who didn’t know better.

Or so I thought. Then life happened.

I discovered how few ‘right’ answers existed. Real life wasn’t a test. Asking questions, far from an act of stupidity, actually fostered learning and connection.

Curiosity has become a brilliant replacement for criticism. I see new possibilities in difficult relationships and tough conversations. I notice how everyone’s life is just as complex, interesting, and unique as mine.

Curiosity helps me empathize.

I believe it’s far more dangerous not to stay curious. Imagine the consequences of assuming we know (enough of) the answers — living in an echo chamber of our existing knowledge or the impact of criticizing others without the context of their story and background.

Life is too short and valuable for us to spend it in ignorant isolation.

Ask questions. Stay curious.

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.