Going into a hornets’ nest

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2017

“You’re going into a hornets’ nest,” a friend recently warned me. “But you already know that.”

Discussing cultural biases, racial discrimination, and the truth about American history is challenging and messy. And sometimes it hurts.

It can feel like I’m only making things worse. It would certainly be easier and less risky to avoid those topics altogether.

But I’m not looking for easy. I’m on a quest for change.

First, a change in my own perspective to better understand and empathize with the experiences of those who are discriminated against. And second, a change in the perspective of other privileged white people like myself to see how our biases and actions may be impacting systemic racism in America (for better or for worse).

We need empathy. I have no desire to shame anyone or induce guilt. This isn’t about declaring one person or group “right” and another person or group “wrong.”

It’s about valuing each person equally. It’s about celebrating different cultures and embracing our differences. It’s standing up for the rights of others.

It’s learning to empathize. It’s showing love.

And it’s worth the challenge because people are worth it.

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.