Navigating the theater of life

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
Published in
1 min readMay 18, 2017

Each situation we encounter is like a theatrical scene.

There are unique set props and background (context), characters (people involved), script and drama (conversation and emotions), and a storyline (the why and how of people’s actions/reactions).

I’m certainly not trying to imply we’re all puppets on the stage of life or trivialize our experiences as entertainment.

Instead, I find this analogy helpful because I often react to a single aspect of a situation without considering the whole scene. By thinking of it as a play on stage, I’m able to step out of the situation, study it more objectively and holistically, and then respond with empathy.

Here are a few questions I’ve found helpful in navigating the theater of life.

  • What additional context have I not yet noticed about this situation?
  • What’s the main story (the why and how)?
  • What other stories are also at play?
  • How might I feel/react if I were in the other characters’ shoes?
  • What does an empathetic response look like?

Asking these questions might feel cumbersome at first, but practiced over time, they’ll become more instinctive as we encounter difficult situations.

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.