Real talk on the risk and reward of vulnerability

How one question changed my perception of vulnerability

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
1 min readSep 13, 2017

--

The pain was deep. I feared that opening up even one more time would hurt too much. I felt raw and vulnerable and weak.

Then my friend Shannon asked me, “What if your vulnerability is your greatest strength?”

I was stunned.

Surely that couldn’t be true. Being vulnerable is risky. There’s no guarantee for how others will respond or what pain might be involved.

How could something that inherently made me susceptible to more heartache and disappointment be good, much less my greatest strength?

But I’m discovering that my friend was right. Vulnerability is hard and sometimes hurts, but it’s also the gateway to deep, meaningful connections, true healing, and courageous empathy.

Vulnerability is becoming my greatest strength.

I think Brené Brown best summarizes the reward of vulnerability in her book, Daring Greatly:

“Vulnerability is the birthplace of love, belonging, joy, courage, empathy, and creativity. It is the source of hope, empathy, accountability, and authenticity. If we want greater clarity in our purpose or deeper and more meaningful spiritual lives, vulnerability is the path.”

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.