What does strong feel like?

The surprising truth about strength

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
1 min readSep 19, 2017

--

“If I were stronger, this wouldn’t be so hard.” I thought being strong meant everything would be easy. I thought it would feel easy.

Of course, certain things do become easier when you have more strength. But having strength doesn’t automatically make all the hard things easy.

I thought being strong felt powerful. And perhaps it does at times. But I’m discovering that strength more often feels like weakness.

I feel weak when I’m vulnerable and share honestly with a friend.
I feel weak when I choose to listen to someone’s story without judgment and without giving a quick fix.
I feel weak when I acknowledge my need and ask for help.

Being strong doesn’t always feel strong. And strength doesn’t necessarily make hard things easier.

Press on. You’re stronger than you feel.

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.