An Invitation made me Homesick

Jessica Archuleta
Emphatically Me
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2019

--

Photo by Natalie Chaney on Unsplash

I received a Facebook invitation to my sister-in-law’s upcoming baby shower today. Sadness came over me because there is no way I can go. My husband’s family lives in New Mexico and we live in Wisconsin. It’s a 21-hour drive without stops. We live so damn far away from family.

My sister-in-law and her wife are expecting their first baby — it’s a girl! We are all so excited for a new addition to the family. My youngest daughter is 4 and she cannot wait to for a baby girl cousin. My teens keep begging if they can fly out and help their aunts when the baby comes, “We have experience with babies and they don’t. They need us!” is what I keep being told. My husband and I are thrilled that his youngest sibling is a mom now and we are dying to see the little one when she is born.

But, we’re far away. So not only will I miss the baby shower, but we’ll miss being one of the first people the bundle of joy meets, because you know if we lived close by we would rush over as soon as we got the okay and scoop that baby up. I’d make the moms something good to eat and tell them to rest while we’re there. We’d do exactly what a new aunt and uncle always do. But, we’re far away.

I’m glad I received the invitation so I know when to send a gift to my other sister-in-law to have at the party. I wish I could be there though to give it in person.

--

--

Jessica Archuleta
Emphatically Me

"There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you." --Maya Angelou