A POEM

I Don’t Need a Room of My Own

Jessica Archuleta
Emphatically Me
Published in
1 min readOct 15, 2019

--

Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

I don’t need a room of my own,
a small quiet space would suffice
a space free of others’ belongings
with no clutter, no distracting device.

I don’t need a room of my own,
a little writing desk would be best
a light infused spot for fresh flowers
with no spills, no interrupting requests.

A desk with history would be fine,
I’d sit and imagine who owned it
writing short stories about their life.
I only need an old desk with
a spot for hot coffee and cream,
a place for my books, papers, and pens,
a space to sit and dream.

I don’t need a room of my own.
Just a little space to breathe.

Enjoy an article of mine!

--

--

Jessica Archuleta
Emphatically Me

"There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you." --Maya Angelou