5 Tips to Create a Better Version of You

Especially during the time of quarantine

Raidan Alaridi
Empirical Notions
4 min readMar 22, 2020

--

If you are quarantined at home and reading this, I am so happy and thrilled to tell you that, surprisingly enough, this story has nothing to do with all the unfortunate events going on in the world right now, and I don’t even want to give them the leverage of being mentioned here. It is about time we turn things around and start investing every moment we have to benefit from this stay-home time, and eventually, come out as better versions of ourselves. This story is to enlighten you to the limitless things you could be doing right now, so sit tight, and enjoy all the options you are about to discover.

A black book titled “Hello Revival” sitting in a white ceramic bowl surrounded by white ceramic mugs and plates
Photo by Hello Revival on Unsplash

I have recently heard lots of people complain about the intolerable boredom they are experiencing after being forced to stay home. Don’t get me wrong, I understand why people say that, but perplexing enough, I have always heard people constantly complain about not having enough time to do things they have always wanted to do. I, on the other hand, was enthusiastically looking forward to this, if I may call it, “me-time” as it is a time to explore myself, improve some skills I wanted to improve, learn new things and do the limitless other things I wanted to do.

As I said, this story is to help you make the best out of your time, so without further ado, here are a few things you could do while staying at home:

  1. Learn a new language: I am sure you won’t become an expert within a couple of weeks, but who knows, you might become committed and continue learning even after this stage of quarantine is over. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of applications on all stores from different operating systems to help you learn the basics. I use Duolingo, and it is a good app. Better yet, reach out to a friend of yours living abroad and try to make regular calls with him/her with any language they might speak fluently and you do not.
  2. Learn a new art: Come on now. Don’t be embarrassed. No one can read your mind, but deep inside you always believed that you should have been a singer or a painter or any other artist. I am not judging here. After all, you might have a terrible voice, but who knows, you won’t know for sure unless you try. Go online and search for vocal coaches, and you will be surprised by the huge number you can find. I watch Tara Simon, just for fun but you can always find your fit. The same thing goes for painting and playing the piano or any other musical instrument.
  3. Write: If you are into writing, do it now, for now, it is the best time, as I am doing in this very second. Believe me, when I say, you don’t need to go out to see things and write about them. The internet is all you need. When you take a moment and reflect upon your experiences, you will figure out that you have more than you ever thought you could put into words. Medium is a great place to share your thoughts and even make money out of it. Wow . . . now, this cannot get any better. I am not into making money, but if you are, try to find new ways to market your stories and get more money. Remember, people are now more than ever on the hunt for good material to read.
  4. Take online courses: All the courses and subjects you can think of are currently available online, and they are pretty constructive, interactive, and extremely helpful. If your pockets are loaded, check top-class universities and their available online programs. If you are looking for something more affordable, like me, I suggest checking out platforms like edX or Coursera. These platforms also cooperate with top-class universities and bring highly optimized course materials onto your lap.
  5. Finish that book for God’s sake: You definitely know what I’m talking about, because even when one is a prolific reader, he/she sometimes gets stuck with a book, a long one, and more often than not, a bad one. The book I struggled with was “The Book Thief”, and although it is highly rated worldwide, it just didn’t match my taste. Better yet, close that book you have been stuck with and read a new one or maybe read stories on Medium. I can assure you, one can never get enough reading, especially if one wants to improve his/her writing skills. I improved my writing immensely by reading. I highly suggest you check out the publications shown below and all the stories under it. Of course, it is where I publish my stories, but I assure you that you won’t regret it.

We have been bragging about the internet and the crazy speeds we have reached for too long. Don’t you think it is about time we start using this technology? Everything mentioned above is a click away. Take the initiative to improve yourself; to come out as a better version of yourself. Who knows, you might end up discovering something that would make you want to stay longer and be more productive while at home; you might discover a new job from home and keep doing it for the rest of your life.

--

--

Raidan Alaridi
Empirical Notions

A free writer, a free thinker. Trying to reach out to free readers and express uncensored thoughts and opinions.