Trans Folks & the Road Less Traveled

How I got from there to here

Mariebobosmith
Empowered Trans Woman
2 min readJan 2, 2020

--

Photo by Oliver Roos

Throughout the years, people have described themselves using multiple labels such as genderfluid, bi-gender, gender nonconforming, nonbinary, genderqueer, and a wide variety of other terms, including crossdresser. Some of them even explore their sexuality to figure out why they feel and think the way they do about themselves, before finally being able to come to terms with who and what they are, transgender men and women. I was one of those people who defined myself using some of the labels above, I even explored my sexuality in my younger years.

For some of us to acknowledge that we are transgender is a terrifying experience. Without the warm, welcoming acceptance, and willingness of other transgender people openly sharing their vastly different experiences and knowledge, I would not be here now, I’d be in my grave.

We find support in a wide variety of places and people. Sometimes the support comes from our family, our friends, even our employers. Other times we find that support on social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook or MeWe. The warm welcome and support found in groups like Empowered Trans Woman and Transgender Support that was extended to me from the members was beneficial because it went a long way to helping me come to terms with my truths and realities as pertains to my gender identity. I can’t speak for everyone, but I believe the same is true for other transgender people.

Please don't push away people who don't meet your standards of what a transgender man or woman must look and/or act like. We need your love and encouragement, not your judgmental consternation.

These photos will give you a small snippet of what it took for me to get where I am now.

By the way, my name is Marie Willa Bobo-Smith and I am a transgender woman. Who are you and what did it take for you to get here?

The transition of Marie Willa Bobo-Smith
The Transition of Marie Willa Bobo-Smith

--

--