Death of a Foul Ball

How close it comes

Terry Barr
Emrys Journal Online
1 min readOct 28, 2019

--

Image credit: Ben Hershey

A boy in my daughter’s fourth grade class once said:

“I died. I really died.”

His name was Harley, and he never finished his story. He moved away a year later. I wonder…

But his “death” made me remember.

At a Birmingham A’s minor league baseball game in old Rickwood Field with my dad, circa 1966, I watched a foul liner screaming in our direction along the first base line. In two seconds, I realized that its target was my face. My dad yelled, but I couldn’t move. I saw the green and white stands, the ball moving from back to foreground, with all else sitting still.

And then, in front of me and out of nowhere, a bald man’s meaty hands rose, and the ball smacked into them, killing it, instead of me.

I don’t remember who won that game, or if we ever thanked that bald-headed man.

Near-death is like that: a presence, and an almost absence.

But I wish I had that ball.

I might have given it to Harley — a token of our near deaths; a memento of our connected lives.

--

--

Terry Barr
Emrys Journal Online

I write about music, culture, equality, and my Alabama past in The Riff, The Memoirist, Prism and Pen, Counter Arts, and am an editor for Plethora of Pop.