I’m Glad my Name is Graham

Graham Duncan
Emrys Journal Online
Nov 11, 2020
Image credit: Andrey Trusov

I’m told my parents picked out my given name

several years before my birth.

A late-night conversation on a full stomach

inside a Nashville-area Cracker Barrel

after my mom finished scraping teeth,

and dad was done trying to become

a country music star.

There, they decided to name me Graham,

after the grocer, the department store clerk.

The husband whose bride wore a borrowed

blue dress instead of white, whose bouquet

was a fist full of roadside weeds.

They named me Graham, after the old man

who spent his Saturday mornings on a jon boat

baiting hooks and reeling in big trophy fish,

and who used a flattened silver spoon instead of a knife

to dip out a generous helping of Duke’s mayonnaise.

Who made his floats with chocolate ice cream

instead of vanilla, used Coke instead of root beer,

and in the summers, sat on Fripp Island until

week’s end, sneaking peeks at sunbathing women

but never letting go of Atha’s loving hand.

Written in loving memory of Graham Mangum.

--

--