Song of My Dog

Cody Wilson
Emrys Journal Online
2 min readJul 23, 2018

O I perceive after all so many uttering tongues,

and I perceive they do not come from the roofs of mouths for nothing.

-“Song of Myself,” section 6

My dog says What is the carpet? I say Fetch!

not knowing how to answer.

As she fetches her ball back to me,

I pat the cushioned ground, and her nails

crochet through its loops and twists

with the full stride of her hinds.

I do not know it any better than she,

who lays all day among its knotted pelt,

its twirling thumbs. I do not notice

the occasional bug that skulks

around its great stalks,

but she can stare for whole minutes

at the slightest movement.

Now she is overdosing on the smell

of a crumb dropped two weeks ago

from the edge of the coffee table.

Now it seems she is really on to something:

She muffles her breath with great sniffs of joy.

Carpet like the handkerchief of the Lord,

she muzzles her dripping nose.

She rolls and rolls like a tongue mid-yawn. She sits

up straight like a jaw snapped shut. She naps.

And outside, she lays among the leaves

of grass, hopeful green stuff woven not unlike

the carpet of her home, though she’s never asked

what grass is.

Her flank outstretched,

she tans her hide. She raises

her pads in praise to the sun,

that big bright fetch that goes always on.

And to nap outside, she thinks,

is different, and luckier.

The poet’s actual dog, Zoe.

--

--

Cody Wilson
Emrys Journal Online

Cody Wilson's chapbook, Nobody is Ever Missing, was published by Tolsun Books. Read more of his work online at Juxtaprose, The Southampton Review, and Juked.