The Singing Waterfall

If you’d read the brochure, you’d know that sometimes Singing Falls sings and sometimes it doesn’t. And sometimes it’s more of a low hum. It’s really up to the Falls.

Susan Frith
Emrys Journal Online
4 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Image credit: Boston Public Library

There are 423 TravelersTalk.com Reviews about The Singing Waterfall.

Top-ranked reviews:

Review by Missy S (Wahpeton, ND)

Honeymoon Ruined (☆)

A singing waterfall. How romantic, I thought. What a perfect spot for a honeymoon selfie, I thought. WRONG! Because my husband (terrible blinker) shut his eyes in the first three-dozen shots, we had to do a re-take. With literally no warning, the Singing Waterfall stopped singing and ordered us to leave. I said we’ll go just as soon as we’re ready, thank you. Then it had the nerve to tell us (with a cackle) that we’d be divorced by year’s end. Awaiting refund.

Park Staff Response: Congratulations on your marriage! We regret that you had an unpleasant experience here. After going over park policies and procedures with the Singing Waterfall, we believe this regrettable instance will not be repeated. Although we’re unable to offer a refund, please enjoy a 10-percent discount at our gift shop on your next visit.

#

Review by RPAgarwalPhD (Athens, GA)

Not for Children — or Anyone (☆)

On a friend’s recommendation, I planned a special trip here with my six-year-old three weeks ago. The park guide who took our $24 in admission neglected to mention that the trails were muddied by recent rains, which necessitated me carrying my daughter on my shoulders approx. 1.5 miles until we reached the waterfall. Upon our arrival, she expressed some disappointment that the Singing Waterfall wasn’t actually singing. (She wanted to hear her favorite songs from Frozen and Moana.) At that point, the waterfall became verbally abusive, bellowing about how spoiled she was. When I attempted to intervene, it spouted a great deal of nonsense about how I have no chance of getting tenure. My daughter left with tears streaming down her sweet face. Needless to say, we won’t be returning.

Park Staff Response: The Singing Waterfall doesn’t recall any interaction with a spoiled six-year-old on the date mentioned. Maybe you shouldn’t build up your child’s expectations in the future. If you’d read the brochure, you’d know that sometimes Singing Falls sings and sometimes it doesn’t. And sometimes it’s more of a low hum. It’s really up to the Falls.

#

Review by TravelBug960 (Winslow, AZ)

Goosebumps, in a Good Way (☆☆☆☆☆)

Had a delightful hike at the park, and the Singing Waterfall treated me to a gorgeous aria. Didn’t run into any of the problems mentioned by other reviewers. (Some folks like to gripe about every minor issue. Would not be surprised if they complained about the Grand Canyon, too.)

Park Staff Response: So glad you were able to enjoy Singing Falls’ unmatched beauty and musical gifts. Come back soon!

#

Review by Travelwithourgrandkids (Gulfport, MS)

Amazing Voice! (☆☆☆☆☆)

Singing Falls is a majestic geological formation, mere minutes from great dining and shopping, the perfect getaway for all ages. It really did sound like it was singing, too. Nature’s so amazing!

Park Staff Response: Singing Falls thanks you for your glowing, 100-percent unbiased review.

#

Review by Annie V. (Mattoon, IL)

Not Like It Used to Be (☆)

Incredibly rude staff, incredibly rude waterfall, and there’s something off in the water, too: I’m still itching after my third shower. This used to be a nice place. Everything was better in 1958.

Actually, everything was better in the Pliocene.

#

Review by PatriotDaddy51 (Bowling Green, KY)

Un-American (☆)

Waited 15 minutes for a loud group of foreign tourists to vacate the Singing Waterfall so my family could take our pictures beneath it. Soon as our turn came, the waterfall let loose with the F-bombs. Americans should be treated with greater respect.

As if you were here first. You give assholes in cargo shorts a bad name.

#

Review by Fabianathegreat (Binghamton, NY)

No Help for My Writer’s Block (☆)

The Singing Waterfall was supposed to provide an inspiring backdrop for the lovemaking scene in my historical romance novel. Unfortunately, only minutes after I pulled out my laptop, the Singing Waterfall guffawed at me, calling my tale of star-crossed cheesemongers “trite and implausible.” If I wanted this sort of discouragement, I would have stuck around with the nitwits in my writing workshop. Luckily, I’ve found another setting for my lovers, and I’m up to 175,000 words — no thanks to the Singing Waterfall.

Singing Falls knows all the agents, and your manuscript is doomed.

#

Review by Saved270 (Killeen, TX)

Corrupting God’s Perfect Plan (☆)

I’m a patient, God-fearing man. But tell me this: Why would the park tolerate such a foul, confrontational natural landmark? For the Lord said, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and SUBDUE it.” (Genesis)

Maybe Singing Falls noticed how you pulled up in a gas-guzzling Infiniti QX80 and yet somehow had no money to leave in the donation box. Maybe Singing Falls sees everything you do, you $%#%@^& hypocrite. “For my eyes are on all their ways.” (Jeremiah 16:17)

#

Review by CodyB. (Myrtle Beach, SC)

A Dead Rock, That’s About It ( ☆☆½)

not sure why the fuss, honestly this place is pretty forgettable. been to much bigger & better waterfalls before. plus no singing when I went. no talking or cussing either. go only if ur bored & nothing else to do.

Singing Fall is 40 million years and fabulous. But you? You’ll be dead in three hours.

--

--

Susan Frith
Emrys Journal Online

Susan Frith writes from Orlando, FL. You can read more of her fiction at susanfrithauthor.com.