Saving Dogs Thanks To Social Media

Marissa Marazzi
ENC 3310
Published in
5 min readNov 24, 2014

As consumers we are hungry for new technology. We crave products that will entertain us, simplify our lives, and enhance our interactions. In terms of pure data consumption, we’re now exposed to more data in a single day than someone in the 15th century would be in their entire lifetime.

I’m very intrigued by the addictive relationship we have with technology. In particular, social media has caught my interest because it has become such an active part in our daily lives. In order to stay relevant in today’s day and age, one must have an online presence.

But why are we addicted to social media? I believe it has less to do with the social media platforms and more to do with psychological factors:
1. Fear of missing out
2. Ego
3. Perceived value
4. Social Validation

All of these psychological factors add up to one conclusion: we aren’t addicted to social media networking sites, we are addicted to ourselves. The point of social media is self-promotion; from sharing a picture, posting your thoughts, or expressing your opinion to others by a like or retweet. It affirms our existence- and we love it.

Although we do use social media in our own self interest more times than most, there are two sides to the coin. I’ve observed these platforms, in particular Facebook, used for selfless causes.

4 years ago while scrolling through Facebook, I stumbled upon an album that changed my life forever. The album was labeled “Death Row Dogs” and contained hundreds of dogs that were due to be euthanized ranging from a few minutes to a few days. Although I knew I would be heart broken if I took a peak at the album, I decided to do it anyways. What I discovered, restored my faith in humanity. Each picture in the album had comments from individuals underneath urgently trying their hardest to save these voiceless animals. As I kept scrolling, I came across a dog named Sparky, who had no comments underneath and was due to die the following evening if not adopted.

Sparky
Bella, our “foster failure”.

Without hesitation I commented underneath notifying everyone that I would be picking her up tomorrow to foster her until she finds a home. The next morning, I drove to Miami Dade Animal Services with my mom and now Big Hearts for Big Dogs founder, Trinity Hansen, to save her. When I arrived, I discovered that MDAS is one of the highest kill shelters in the country killing 100–300 dogs every week. So, I made the executive decision to foster two dogs instead of just Sparky. Long story short, Sparky found her new home easily within a few days. The other dog? We ended up naming her Bella and became “foster failures” (aka kept her). Without Facebook providing a platform to help assist this process, both Bella and Sparky would’ve been euthanized and I would’ve never found my best friend.

In the past, rescuing dogs with very little time left has been very difficult. Now thanks to social media, it’s easier than ever to connect with like-minded individuals from all over as well as “market” these homeless animals for free. The army of selfless individuals I discovered have inspired me. Now, I’d like to share in more detail how they utilize social media to fight for these dogs lives.

It all starts with an album on Facebook.

Then, the clock starts and the magic happens.

Users will:

  • Share the picture to help get exposure
  • Organize rescue missions.
  • Tag rescues and friends who might be able to foster, adopt, or help.
  • Comment to help organize the rescue from a shelter.
  • Start online fundraisers for dogs who might be injured or sick.
  • Become an army for an abused dog.
Checkout Olafs story here.

It’s absolutely heartwarming watching strangers from all over team up and take action. Without them, almost all the dogs in the albums would never have a chance making it out alive.

Since my discovery of this army, I dedicate a few hour a week to help. Sadly, the other day I wasn’t able to save Flash, a dog I was working on. It broke my heart. This is why I can’t emphasize enough how crucial social media is in helping saving these time sensitive animals lives.

Although social media is always assumed to have a negative effect on our society and individuals, I beg to differ. Evidence does seem to prove that we mainly use it for self promotion, but it also shows we are caring and creative individuals who can use this platform to save the world. So next time you are scrolling through your newsfeed and a dog looking for a home pops up, don’t ignore it. Just by sharing or liking the picture, you can help contribute to help saving that dogs life.

Special thank you to the army of animal rescuers out there saving lives every day. I can’t thank your enough for your hard work, selflessness and dedication to giving these dogs a voice. If you would like to get involved, want more information or have any questions please contact me at marazzi1@mail.usf.edu.

PS: Check out my favorite Rescue and army on Facebook: Big Hearts for Big Dogs Rescue and Rescue Me Tampa!

--

--

Marissa Marazzi
ENC 3310

Take risks; If you win, you will be happy. If you lose, you will be wise.