My experiences with poverty

Mike Perticone
End World Poverty
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2021

Every time I see someone who is homeless or in need I always try to give them anything I have in my wallet. While it is usually only a couple of dollars, I do it because they all are so grateful just to receive anything. I do this because it makes me feel good knowing that I helped them out. Even something as little as one dollar can make their day. I encounter many homeless people because I am from Long Island and I often go to New York City and they have the second highest population of homeless people in the world. I do not give to people because I have so much, I just cant imagine what they are going through and I realized how blessed I am to have a roof over my head and food on my plate. These people do not know where they are sleeping tonight, they do not know where their next meal is coming from and they do not know what to do. All they need is some support and they can begin to get on the right track for themselves. Many people always say “they can get a job” or “it is not right to beg for money”, however many jobs refuse to hire them by their appearance. It is not as easy for them as people think. Another encounter I will remember for the rest of my life is when I was in Toronto. I stayed in an apartment for the weekend and right next to the building was a 7/11. Every day I would see these two people sitting outside and they were talking to me for quite a while. They were saying how no one gives them money anymore because people think they will use the money for bad things such as drugs. However they told me they just wanted food and drinks for the day. So I bought them each a gatorade and a water. It costed me less than 5 dollars and they expressed their gratitude towards me so much. I was able to help them out and it made me very happy seeing that I can make a difference on their lives with something so simple. If everyone was able to do something like this frequently, I believe that the world would be a much better place. I hope one day that people can realize how blessed they truly are and help out those in need because they were not as blessed as you might be. If people can learn this and give back to their communities, I believe that poverty will no longer be an issue in the future.

--

--