Monica Rodriguez
Energy and Consciousness
3 min readApr 22, 2015

--

Is Counting Calories Effective?

Today I want to talk about a topic that people never stop asking me about, which is counting calories. From my perspective, I am not a big fan of counting calories, since doing so may easily separate us from the deepest essence of food. As I had mentioned before, food is about wholeness and mutual inspiration, food helps us sing the tones that we are not singing at the moment and food helps us remember that which we really are. When we break down food into its components, this connection becomes fragmented and we may lose the sense of wholeness. However, there are cases in which counting calories may be of great benefit, let me explain…

It is not until or emotions, thoughts and beliefs around food are completely aligned with a completely different paradigm that we can expect different results from our dietary habits and actions. For example, if you truly believe that bread and butter will make you fat, they will make you fat. If you sincerely believe that fruits and veggies are healthy for you, they will be healthy for you. If you 100% believe that you can eat whatever you want and never gain weight, then you will never gain weight… The tricky point here is that changing our core beliefs is not easy, and until this is done, you will have to adapt and accept your current beliefs to match your actions and the results you want.

So, how does this tie up with counting calories? Well, let me give you a real-life example using my own recent experience…. I LOVE to incorporate tons of living, life-force filled, raw foods into my diet, and I have been experimenting with this exponentially over the last 4 months… However, my weight has dropped, as my body naturally tends to be on the smaller size frame and I always lose weight very easily. Since I know I feel better with a little bit of more weight, and this is not happening at the moment, I have to ACCEPT my current beliefs around food, and in this case, counting calories and making sure I am getting enough nourishment is the most loving and healthy thing for me to do…. So I started doing this, and I know I am on my way to finding an exquisite balance between what I love to do and what my current beliefs are.

So as you can see, there ARE some cases in which counting calories can be an act of self-love and the best course of action. That is something that you have to decide for yourself based on your own history, needs, body and beliefs.

Now, does counting calories mean that I am losing my connection and inspiration with food? NO WAY!!! I am conscious of the fact that when I appreciate, love and honor my food (with or without counting calories), my food will appreciate and love me back!!!

There are no dogmas and rules, but sometimes, we have to find a balance between the science behind food and the spirituality behind food, and somehow bridge them both for our biggest benefit based on our current level of consciousness. Neither science nor spirituality makes you a better person, a smarter person, a more evolved person or a more connected person. You ALREADY are the most whole, magnificent, evolved and connected person!!!

Please know that it is not so much your actions that lead to your desired outcomes, but the INTENTION behind those actions is the leading force that will get you to your most beneficial outcome. When you start from a place of self-love, any actions, whatever they may be, will just be secondary step!

So I ask you the following question:

What is the most loving food-related action that you can make for yourself today? I would love to hear from you, so please leave your comments below! And please remember that if you need that extra support, I am always here to help you!

In appreciation and trust,

Monica

--

--