Attendance in Adversity: How I Fought My Way Back to School

Quis Evans
Energy Convertors Online Magazine
2 min readMay 3, 2024

By Kaki Tam, EC Oakland Cohort 5 Fellow

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the number of U.S. students who are chronically absent doubled, from 15 percent in 2018–19 to 30 percent in 2021–22. You might wonder about the causes behind such high rates of absenteeism. Here’s my story.

What is Chronic Absenteeism?

Chronic absenteeism refers to missing 10 percent or more of the school year for any reason, putting students at academic risk. According to research from the White House, this leads to poorer academic performance and lower standardized test scores.

https://dashboards.ousd.org/views/ChronicAbsence_0/Comparison?:embed=y&:display_count=no&:render=false#40

In Oakland, the situation is stark. According to the OUSD Dashboard, shows that while 43.8% of students had satisfactory attendance, a significant number were absent frequently enough to be at risk or worse.

My Struggle with Attendance

My attendance issues began in my sophomore year and worsened during my junior year when I accumulated an average of 50 class absences per semester. This led to a district letter warning of potential expulsion. Concurrently, I began to acknowledge my depression and sought therapy.

Managing depression while handling the rigorous coursework of three AP classes was overwhelming. Frequently, I found myself needing to leave school early, especially since two of my AP classes were in the afternoon.

How I Improved My Attendance

Now in my senior year, I still face challenges, but I’ve seen improvement through additional support and instruction outside the traditional classroom setup. This academic intervention has involved attending direct instruction followed by moving to a designated space for independent learning. This arrangement has significantly reduced my stress and increased my ability to stay at school the entire day.

Understanding the Larger Issue

Many students in Oakland face obstacles like lack of transportation, safety concerns, and insufficient resources, which contribute to chronic absences. Research suggests that effective schools don’t punish absenteeism but instead establish daily attendance policies and interventions to help students like me.

Looking Forward

Prioritizing my mental health has been crucial. With improved self-awareness, I’m no longer chronically absent. I’m incredibly grateful for the student support team at my school, who listen and validate my experiences, especially as an Asian student who felt overlooked in the past.

Every student’s situation is unique, but for those of us struggling with attendance, it’s vital to know there are supports that can make a difference.

--

--