Parents Make or Break Academic Success

Quis Evans
Energy Convertors Online Magazine
5 min readMar 27, 2023

By: Alejandra Lopez-Herrera, Oakland Scholar

Understood | by Lexi Walters Wright

Parental involvement is necessary for students to achieve academic success. Students whose parents are supportive and involved perform better academically, have higher levels of motivation and exhibit better behavior in school. According to Psychology Today, parental involvement is defined as active participation in a student’s academic life. It consists of attending parent-teacher conferences, monitoring homework, volunteering at school, and supporting and encouraging their children. When parents are involved in their child’s academics, they create a positive and supportive learning atmosphere that promotes success for their children. Lamentably, the lack of parental involvement is a growing concern in today’s society, which hurts students’ academic performance and heavily affects their mental health.

A study from the education management system, Feden, revealed that parental involvement benefits student achievement. According to the study, children whose parents were involved in their education regularly had better grades, test scores, and graduation rates. Furthermore, these students had better attendance and fewer disciplinary problems.

Parental participation benefits students in part because it boosts motivation. Parents actively involved in their children’s education demonstrate their values of learning and dedication to their academic achievement. Children whose parents are disengaged or uninvolved may feel unimportant or disregarded, resulting in apathy about school.

Promoting better behavior in school is another factor contributing to the positive effects of parental participation. Being involved in their child’s schooling increases the likelihood of parents being aware of their child’s behavior and can address problems early. Parents can discuss acceptable behavior and consequences with their children, work with instructors to create a behavior plan, and get professional assistance if required.

The absence of parental engagement adversely impacts student achievement. Students with unengaged parents are more inclined to struggle academically, experience lower motivation, and demonstrate behavioral problems in school. Students with supportive and involved parents have better academic achievement, higher interest, and better behavior in school. Therefore, it is essential for parents to actively participate in their child’s education and create a positive and supportive learning environment.

My Story

As a 17-year-old girl from a Hispanic background, my lack of parental involvement has profoundly impacted me. Growing up, my mom was a single mother who worked all the time to provide for both of us. While I am grateful for everything she has done, her absence in my life has sometimes left me feeling lost and alone. One of the most significant ways that the lack of parental involvement has affected me is through my education. Due to her demanding work schedule, my mom could never attend parent-teacher conferences or help me with my homework. As a result, I often struggled in school and fell behind my peers. While I was able to catch up eventually, the experience left me feeling inadequate and frustrated. I always wished that my mom could be there to guide me and provide me with the support I needed to succeed.

Lack of parental involvement has also affected my social life. Growing up, I never had the same opportunities as my peers to participate in extracurricular activities or go out with friends. My Mom was always working, and I had to take care of my younger cousins while she was away. While I loved spending time with my family, I always felt I was missing out on something. I struggled to make friends and connect with my peers because I didn’t have the same experiences as them. I often felt isolated and alone. I struggled with anxiety and depression, making it difficult to reach out to others. I felt like nobody understood what I was going through, and I didn’t want to burden anyone with my problems. I often turned to unhealthy coping mechanisms like overeating or binge-watching TV to deal with my emotions. Despite the challenges I faced, I was determined to succeed. I worked hard in school and got good grades, even though it was difficult. I also found solace in my passion for writing, which allowed me to express myself and process my emotions. I wrote about my experiences and shared my work with others, which helped me to feel less alone.

As I prepare to graduate from high school and embark on my journey as a first-generation college student, I am proud of everything I have accomplished. However, I am also acutely aware of the challenges that lie ahead. I know that college will be a challenging and unfamiliar experience, and I am scared that I cannot handle it alone. While I am grateful for everything my mom has done for me, I wish she could have been more involved in my life and that she could have been there to guide me and provide me with the support I needed to succeed. I wish she could have attended my school events and celebrated my achievements with me. Most of all, I want no other kid to go through the same circumstances as I did.

Tips for Parents

Communicate

One of the easiest ways for parents to become involved in their child’s education is by frequently communicating with their child and teachers about their academic progress. Parent-teacher conferences provide the perfect setting for doing this. These conferences allow parents to meet with their child’s teacher and discuss their academic progress. Parents can ask questions about their child’s strengths and weaknesses and discuss ways to support their child’s learning at home. By attending these conferences, parents can also show their children that they value their education and are committed to helping them succeed.

Volunteer

Volunteering is another way for parents to become involved in their child’s education. Schools need volunteers to help with various activities such as field trips, classroom projects, and school events. Parents can also volunteer as a classroom helper or mentor students needing extra support. Volunteering at the school helps the school and allows parents to build relationships with teachers and staff.

Make Homework a Habit

Creating a homework routine is another way to become involved in your child’s education. By setting aside time each day for homework, parents can help their children develop good study habits and prioritize their schoolwork. Parents can also provide guidance and support as their child completes their homework by reviewing their work, answering questions, and offering encouragement.

Prioritize Learning

Create a supportive home environment that encourages your child to learn by providing a quiet study space, limiting screen time, and promoting healthy eating and sleeping habits. A supportive home environment helps children focus on their education and achieve their academic goals.

Progress Monitor

Parents should regularly monitor their child’s progress in school. Parents can identify areas where they need additional support and celebrate their successes by monitoring their child’s progress.

Set Well-rounded Goals

Set academic goals with your child and help them develop a plan to achieve them. Setting educational goals gives your child something to strive for and helps them stay motivated. Also, encourage your child to participate in extracurricular activities like sports, music, or clubs. These activities can help your child develop social skills, build confidence, and discover new interests. By encouraging your child to participate in extracurricular activities, you show them that learning extends beyond the classroom.

Show Them

Model a love for learning. Show your child that you value education by reading books, taking classes, or even pursuing a hobby. By modeling a passion for learning, you inspire your child to be curious, ask questions, and pursue their dreams.

--

--