Thankful Through it All

Energy Convertors
Energy Convertors Online Magazine
2 min readMar 14, 2018

By: Anacelia Rodriguez

In honor of International Women’s Month, our very own Anacelia takes time to appreciate the love and sacrifices made for her by the matriarchs of her family.

While growing up, we never had much money. I grew up with my father, grandmother, sister, and brother. My father worked hard to provide the finances, and my grandmother kept us all happy. For the record, my (paternal) grandmother is still doing a fantastic job keeping us all smiling. It was great.

In third grade, I made a pretty big decision. I decided I wanted to move to Oakland with my mother. She is a hard-working, single woman who does her best no matter what. I know she loves her children with all her heart. The statistics say that having a single mother and living in a rough neighborhood will often translate to a harder life for a child. So what! I knew we didn’t have a lot of money, but that didn’t matter to me.

I’ve always had friends that were more fortunate financially. To be honest, I have always wished to be well off with a big house and not have to worry about where my next meal is coming from. There have been times where I wasn’t sure if we’d have water or electricity. It can be kinda difficult doing homework without lights.

The struggle makes me appreciate the happy days even more.

Since my mother was by herself, I usually had help from my auntie and grandma in Oakland when I moved out here. My mother did have a strong support system with my aunt and grandmother. When my mother and I argue, I can always count on them. I’m tearing up just thinking about how much those ladies mean to me. They’ve helped make me who I am today.

Together, my mom, aunt, and (maternal) granny, we overcame poverty with love. I am a leader today because of those women. I knew I had to be the role model for my little brother in the future to not steer him off into the wrong path. If I had the chance to re-do it all — the hardships, the struggles, any of it — I wouldn’t! Not even if you paid me thousands of dollars. I learned life isn’t easy, especially living in this Bay Area economy with little money. But, I am so grateful for what comes my way. The struggle makes me appreciate the happy days even more.

Though as a teenager I have an attitude at times, I’m always thankful for my family who has been there for me every single day. Love surrounds me.

--

--

Energy Convertors
Energy Convertors Online Magazine

Helping marginalized folx #navigate education. S/O 2 people converting negative energy to positive all over. #BeAnEnergyConvertor #DoWork Founder: @ccoleiii