VR & AR

Miranda J. Sarber
ENG 3370
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2017
http://www.realitytechnologies.com/design

This week we learned about virtual reality and augmented reality. In all honesty, I have never played those kinds of games. I have heard a lot about them and saw videos of other people playing those games. The one article by Kris Graft, How Neuroscience Can Pave the Way for VR’s Future, was really interesting to me. I never thought about how the brain can be affected by the responses in a game. Graft talked about motion and emotion and how the brain responds. I have seen many videos on social media with people physically falling down or getting nauseous with a VR headset on. It was interesting to learn that the brain has a hard time trying to connect actual movement vs movement they feel in the head when playing the game (Graft, K). One of the biggest challenges with VR games is creating something that prevents the motion sickness. Graft then talks about how VR can cause people to have strong emotions. I think if you are playing a game that can cause harm, such as being shot, stabbed, or being attacked it can directly affect you on a personal level versus just in the game because it seems so real. He mentioned how VR has high opportunity in helping people treat medical problems such as PTSD, phobias, pain and strokes. I would love to learn more about that and see research about the people training through VR versus actually working in the field training to see if there is a big gap between the two (Graft, K)

Throughout all my schooling since middle school, I have used PowerPoint for all my presentations. I only remember once using Prezi for a presentation and that was only because it was the only platform we could use. Kind of on an unrelated note, I have been looking at many resumes and how to build a good resume for jobs and internships. Many of them today designed with color and different shapes making it standout more than the typical resume one would type up on Microsoft Word. Reading the article written by Arielle Pardes, Sorry, Powerpoint: The Slide Deck of the Future will be in AR, made me think about how things are changing. I remember learning how to write a resume in high school and it just being plain, simple, and to the point. Now it’s creative looking, and companies prefer having those kinds of resumes because it stands out. I understand why having an interactive illustration could make it stand out more in a conference call or meeting. Having it interactive keeps one entertained and listening.

http://www.realitytechnologies.com/design

It’s not necessarily augmented reality, but on some apartment websites one could design a room with furniture to see how things can be placed and what it will look at. I think that is useful to people because space is always a top concern when moving. Pardes talks about Snapchat and all the features it offers, the puppy face and objects moving around (Pardes, A). Snapchat first started with a hotdog dancing around and one can place it anywhere and record it. It was so popular they then made it able to have ones bitmoji interact. I think AR is a great thing for interior designers or architecture. Designers would be able to test out products and designs before purchasing.

I think VR and AR definitely have high protentional in growth. It is something the young generation is interested in. I think that it is a way people can experience things without physically having to go somewhere or do something. As Graft was saying in the first article they are using VR in training people for jobs. I could definitely see this technology in educational programs. I’m interested to see what the future looks like with this technology.

References

Graft, K. (2017, September 21). How neuroscience can pave the way for VR’s future. Retrieved November 3, 2017, from https://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/306267/How_neuroscience_can_pave_the_way_for_VRs_future.php

Pardes, A. (2017, October 24). Sorry, PowerPoint: The Slide Deck of the Future Will Be in AR. Retrieved November 03, 2017, from https://www.wired.com/story/prezi-augmented-reality/

--

--