Database

Rachel Forrester
Engage Troy
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2016

In order for the app to work, it needs to be able to get the right information to the user when the user calls it. To do this, I need a database with all of the information that I want the app to be able to access. I started with the information for the local leaders pages, since the information needed for those pages is very uniform (I made a wireframe template that all of them will just plug information into). I found out pretty quickly that copying information from around the internet into little excel cells takes a really long time, but I have gotten almost full information for the city council and school board so far. I still need to dig up head shots for the city council people, but I might wait to do that until I contact them later down the line to ask their permission to put them in the app in the first place. I also have to do all of the county stuff and some more city officials as well. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to include state officials. Including them might distract the focus too much from local leaders.

City website, where I found a lot of the information that I need for the city council part of the database
Screenshot of my wireframe for people profiles. It might change a little (or more than a little) between now and the finished version, but this is an idea.

One last note: I might end up making a website to start and then working from that to an app. It might be easier to flesh out all my ideas in a simpler, easier to mess around with environment before I add the extra layer of confusion of app development to it. I probably will talk about how that is going in my next blog post.

--

--