News

Rachel Forrester
Engage Troy
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2016

I began working on the news section on the website, which should follow this layout:

Troy local news -> link to website or find API to get information — ask Troy Record about copyrights

Opinion -> table with each column has title of a user’s opinion, and name

  • Each column will lead to the user’s opinion like an email + button to direct message the author ->Message to the user one way
  • Write an opinion button -> user will submit name, title of the user’s opinion, and opinion

editable, interactive community calendar

Announcements

Minutes

  • City council
  • School board
  • county legislature
  • etc.

I am having a hard time with the formatting on the website, so it doesn’t look like much of anything right now, but hopefully soon I will have a sort of mockup for all of these features complete. Obviously there is no data to actually make these features function right now because I don’t have a stash of community sourced opinions or anything, but I should be able to make it so that when someone writes one it will show up.

One problem I am running into with the website thing is the user accounts. I think that it should be possible to have a personal login for each user, but I haven’t figured it out yet and a lot of the features that I want the most require users to have personal accounts. My next step will be to figure out how to make this work, and if it isn’t possible, I may have to select a different website builder or figure out how to do it myself in the open xml code area.

--

--