🧜‍♀️So this is Chess!!

I think I’m Interested

James Kidiga
ENGAGE

--

Bing Image Creator

I have seen Chess somewhere but ignored it many times. Seems like I wasn't interested.

I have never seen Chess by the naked eye, 😁😁. Don't laugh, please. I have been seeing it on television and social media only.

Initially, I thought maybe it is played the same as the Draughts Checkers game is played. But hell No 😁, it's not like that. This one "Chess" is a different game that is currently spread across the world and looks very interesting and awesome.

Previously, I saw it in the movie "Queen of Katwe" released in 2016. In the scenes, a 10-year-old, Phiona from slums - in Uganda gets interested in Chess. Hence, she learns and becomes the top player in Uganda. She later becomes a great player and leads the Ugandan team to the Chess Olympiad in Russia. She then secures finances to lift her family from poverty.

Again, I came across a post on LinkedIn from a Nigeria man, namely Tunde Onakoya, a founder of Chess in Slums Africa. His expertise in Chess was recognized worldwide and he has been invited to attend several sessions including the recent one in the U.S. — about over 800k invested in spreading the gift of Chess to the world.

So what is Chess?!

--

--

James Kidiga
ENGAGE
Writer for

An education professional and digital lad striving toward Career Growth, Innovation, Digital Literacy, Leadership, and Personal Development.