A Retrospective on Self-Care in Action

Becoming self-aware takes practice

Margie Pearl
ENGAGE

--

Circles in the water from a skipping stone
Photo by Linus Nylund on Unsplash

Rui’s monthly challenge stumped me

What resolutions have I stuck to in the past, present, or future?

My ceaseless goal has been to stop dealing with difficult people. It’s an impossible task and saying it sounds embarrassingly immature.

The deeper question was why did I entangle myself with difficult people? As a result, spend so much time feeling upset, sparring with them, or feeling doomed to misery.

I sought a therapist

When I found myself unable to sleep for a month. An accidental death of a young family member plunged me into such dysregulation that my mind’s constant chatter finally yelled:

Stop! I do not want to be me.

I made an appointment with a therapist that day.

After she took my history, the therapist told me I needed to learn about boundaries. I had no idea what she was talking about, as they had never existed in the world I grew up in. She wrote down a book title and told me to start reading.

My father held a public-facing job and my mother had to entertain the multitudes whether she liked it or not. I witnessed the…

--

--

Margie Pearl
ENGAGE

Tell me a story! margie@margiepearl.com. Author, storyteller, poet, seamstress, knitter, gardener. Bio.link/margiepe